AGENDA

COMMITTEE ON INSTITUTIONAL ADVANCEMENT

Meeting: 4:15 p.m., Tuesday, September 24, 2024

Glenn S. Dumke Auditorium

Leslie Gilbert-Lurie, Chair

Jean Picker Firstenberg, Vice Chair

Mark Ghilarducci

Jonathan Molina Mancio Yammilette Rodriguez Jose Antonio Vargas

Consent 1. Approval of Minutes, *Action*

Discussion 2. 2024-2025 California State University Trustees' Award for Outstanding Achievement,

Information

Action Item
Agenda Item 1
September 22-25, 2024
Page 1 of 2

MINUTES OF THE MEETING OF THE COMMITTEE ON INSTITUTIONAL ADVANCEMENT

Trustees of the California State University
Office of the Chancellor
Glenn S. Dumke Auditorium
401 Golden Shore
Long Beach, California

July 24, 2024

Members Present

Leslie Gilbert-Lurie, Chair Jean Picker Firstenberg, Vice Chair Mark Ghilarducci Jonathan Molina Mancio Yammilette Rodriguez

Jack B. Clarke, Jr., Chair of the Board Mildred García, Chancellor

Trustee Gilbert-Lurie called the meeting to order.

Approval of Minutes

The minutes of May 21, 2024, were approved as submitted.

Naming of the Habbas Law Athletic Center at San José State University

Greg Saks, vice chancellor, external relations and communications, reported that the proposed naming recognizes the \$3.3 million sponsorship agreement with Habbas & Associates. Funds will be used to make improvements, repay the debt service on the building, and maintain the recently opened Spartan Athletics Center.

San José State President Cynthia Teniente-Matson shared the impact of the sponsorship agreement and thanked Mr. Habbas and his law firm for their commitment and support to SJSU Athletics. She noted that this public private partnership is unique in the athletics space and serves as a model for future collaborations, encouraging more businesses to invest in SJSU Athletics and the university.

Inst. Adv. Agenda Item 1 September 22-25, 2024 Page 2 of 2

The committee approved the proposed resolution (RIA 07-24-06) that the Spartan Athletic Center at San José State University be named Habbas Law Athletics Center at San José State University for a period not to exceed ten years from the date of the agreement, and contingent upon receipt of the annual payment and fulfillment of the other terms as stipulated in the sponsorship agreement.

Chancellor García recognized Omar Habbas and his firm for their decades-long commitment to community support. Mr. Habbas was present and gave remarks. Chair Clarke presented Mr. Habbas with a framed resolution.

Trustee Gilbert-Lurie adjourned the meeting.

Information Item

Agenda Item 2 September 22-25, 2024 Page 1 of 2

COMMITTEE ON INSTITUTIONAL ADVANCEMENT

2024-2025 California State University Trustees' Award for Outstanding Achievement

Presentation By

Jack B. Clarke, Jr. Chair of the Board

Mildred García Chancellor

Leslie Gilbert-Lurie Trustee

Summary

The California State University (CSU) Board of Trustees provides scholarships to high-achieving students with superior academic records who are also providing extraordinary service to their communities. Many have overcome profound challenges in their journey toward pursuing their academic goals.

Background

Since its inception, over 500 students have received the CSU Trustees' Award for Outstanding Achievement. Thanks to donor generosity, 23 students will receive an award this year. The most outstanding recipient is designated the Trustee Emeritus Ali C. Razi Scholar.

These distinguished awards are funded by contributions from the CSU trustees, CSU Foundation board members, employees and friends of the university. Scholarships range from \$7,000 to \$18,000. The recipients of the 2024-2025 CSU Trustees' Award for Outstanding Achievement are:

Alexandra Brown

California State University, Bakersfield CSU Trustee Emeritus Kenneth Fong Scholar

Heather Smith

California State University Channel Islands CSU Trustee Emeritus Murray L. Galinson Scholar

Luz Gonzalez

California State University, Chico CSU Chancellor Mildred García Scholar

Gabriella Amaya

California State University, Dominguez Hills William Randolph Hearst Foundation Scholar

Emilie Giannini

California State University, East Bay CSU Chancellor Emeritus Timothy P. White Scholar

Anthony Agueda

California State University, Fresno
CSU Trustee Emeritus Peter G. Mehas Scholar

Inst. Adv. Agenda Item 2 September 22-25, 2024 Page 2 of 2

Estrella de Guadalupe Bonilla

California State University, Fullerton Edison International Scholar

Dillon Avery Harp

California State Polytechnic University, Humboldt CSU Chancellor Emeritus Charles B. and Catherine Reed Scholar

Katrina Watson

California State University, Long Beach William Randolph Hearst Foundation Scholar

Rebekah Reyes

California State University, Los Angeles CSU Trustee Emeritus and CSU Foundation Board Member Ali C. Razi Scholar

Thomas Porter

California State University Maritime Academy CSU Foundation Board Member Michael A. and Debe Lucki Scholar

Jianshan Chen Khalsa

California State University, Monterey Bay John and Beverly Stauffer Foundation Scholar

Trisha Williams

California State University, Northridge CSU Executive Vice Chancellor and CFO Steve Relyea Scholar

Ezekiel Leyva

California State Polytechnic University, Pomona *TELACU Scholar*

Perla Tellez

California State University, Sacramento William Randolph Hearst Foundation Scholar

Juan Michael Sibrian

California State University, San Bernardino SchoolsFirst Federal Credit Union Scholar

Maria Christina Huerta-Avila

San Diego State University
CSU Trustee Jack McGrory Scholar

Juan Carlos Arredondo

San Francisco State University

CSU Trustee Leslie and Cliff Gilbert-Lurie

Scholar

Fernando Sánchez López

San José State University CSU Trustee Emeritus William Hauck and Padget Kaiser Scholar

Maileen Soriano-Mamaradlo

California Polytechnic State University, San Luis Obispo William Randolph Hearst Scholar

Minh Tran

California State University San Marcos
CSU Trustee Wenda Fong and Daniel Fetterly
Scholar

Bryce Iversen

Sonoma State University
CSU Trustee Emerita Claudia H. Hampton
Scholar

Estefania Hernandez Luna

California State University, Stanislaus CSU Foundation Board Member Ron and Mitzi Barhorst Scholar