AGENDA

COMMITTEE ON COMMITTEES

Meeting: 2:05 p.m., Tuesday, July 12, 2022 Dumke Auditorium Jack Clarke, Jr., Chair Douglas Faigin, Vice Chair Diego Arambula Anna Ortiz-Morfit Consent 1. Approval of Minutes of the Meeting of April 28, 2022, Action 2. Amendments to Board of Trustees' Standing Committee Assignments for 2022-2023, Action

Action Item Agenda Item 1 July 11-13, 2022 Page 1 of 2

MINUTES OF MEETING OF COMMITTEE ON COMMITTEES

Trustees of the California State University Office of the Chancellor 401 Golden Shore Long Beach, California

April 28, 2022

Members Present

Jack B. Clarke, Jr., Chair Diego Arambula Anna Ortiz-Morfit Krystal Raynes

Lillian Kimbell, Chair of the Board

Call to Order

Trustee Clarke called the meeting to order. There were no requests for public comment.

Approval of Minutes

The minutes of the September 14, 2021, meeting were approved as submitted.

Discussion

Trustee Clarke presented the proposed 2022-2023 standing committee assignments, including committee chairs and vice chairs. He provided some of the thinking and guiding principles that were followed. After consultation with leadership and the vice chair of the committee, they endeavored to make the proposed committee assignments fair after considering the trustees' preferences, their expertise and experience, a balanced workload and a careful consideration of the unique challenges facing the board at this time.

Trustee Clarke called for a motion to approve the proposed standing committee assignments, including committee chairs and vice chairs, for 2022-2023. There was a motion and a second.

Trustee Raynes shared that she is excited to see Trustee Sabalius nominated as chair of Educational Policy. Although she is confident in Trustee Faigin's ability to continue as chair of Governmental Relations, she would like to see a broader conversation about the opportunities for

CoC Agenda Item 1 July 11-13, 2022 Page 2 of 2

student trustees in board leadership roles. She expressed her appreciation to board leadership and her respect and admiration for those on the proposed slate.

Trustee Arambula is appreciative of his colleagues who have stepped up and expressed an interest in leadership roles. He thanked board leadership for putting together the slate of nominees and believes this is the right group to lead the board. He would like the board to explore the idea of student trustees potentially serving as committee chairs despite the challenge of their shorter time on the board.

Trustee Clarke believes that this nomination process needs to be the subject of a broader board discussion and he looks forward to bringing this conversation forward.

Hearing no further discussion, there was a roll call vote. The proposed committee assignments were unanimously approved.

Trustee Clarke then asked if any trustee would like to make a nomination for chair and vice chair of the board. Chair Kimbell nominated Wenda Fong to serve as board chair and Jack Clarke to serve as board vice chair for 2022-2023. Trustee Arambula seconded the motion.

Trustee Arambula believes Trustee Fong and Trustee Clarke are the right leaders during this momentous time as they are level-headed, clear about the CSU mission and have the ability to bring the board together.

Chair Kimbell acknowledged that the last year has been challenging, but there is still a lot of work ahead and believes that Trustee Fong and Trustee Clarke are the right trustees to take on these roles.

Trustee Raynes also expressed her support and admiration for both Trustee Fong and Trustee Clarke, is excited to see the continued progress of the board and believes the institution is in very good hands.

Hearing no further discussion, there was a roll call vote. The proposed nominations for board leadership were unanimously approved.

The recommendations will be presented to the full board for approval at the May 24-25, 2022, meeting.

Trustee Clarke adjourned the Committee on Committees.

Action Item Agenda Item 2 July 11-13, 2022 Page 1 of 2

COMMITTEE ON COMMITTEES

Amendments to Board of Trustees' Standing Committee Assignments for 2022-2023

Presentation By

Jack B. Clarke, Jr. Chair, Committee on Committees

Summary

Due to the appointment of Trustee **Diana Aguilar-Cruz** on July 1, 2022, the Committee on Committees recommends amendments to the Standing Committees for 2022-2023 as noted below.

The following resolution is recommended for approval:

RESOLVED, by the Board of Trustees of the California State University, on recommendation by the Committee on Committees that the following amendments be made to the Standing Committees for 2022-2023:

AUDIT

Lateefah Simon, Chair Yammilette Rodriguez, Vice Chair *Diana Aguilar-Cruz* Jack Clarke, Jr. Adam Day Lillian Kimbell Jack McGrory

CAMPUS PLANNING, BUILDINGS AND GROUNDS

Larry L. Adamson, Chair Anna Ortiz-Morfit, Vice Chair *Diana Aguilar-Cruz* Adam Day Douglas Faigin Maria Linares Romey Sabalius Lateefah Simon

COLLECTIVE BARGAINING

Christopher Steinhauser, Chair Jack Clarke, Jr., Vice Chair Larry L. Adamson Adam Day Julia I. Lopez Lateefah Simon

EDUCATIONAL POLICY

Romey Sabalius, Chair Diego Arambula, Vice Chair Douglas Faigin Jean Picker Firstenberg Maria Linares Julia I. Lopez Yammilette Rodriguez Christopher Steinhauser CoC Agenda Item 2 July 11-13, 2022 Page 2 of 2

FINANCE

Jack McGrory, Chair Julia I. Lopez, Vice Chair Larry L. Adamson *Diana Aguilar-Cruz* Lillian Kimbell Anna Ortiz-Morfit Romey Sabalius Christopher Steinhauser

GOVERNMENTAL RELATIONS

Douglas Faigin, Chair Maria Linares, Vice Chair Diego Arambula Jack McGrory Yammilette Rodriguez Romey Sabalius Lateefah Simon

INSTITUTIONAL ADVANCEMENT

Lillian Kimbell, Chair Jean Picker Firstenberg, Vice Chair Diego Arambula Anna Ortiz-Morfit Yammilette Rodriguez

ORGANIZATION AND RULES

Jean Picker Firstenberg, Chair Julia I. Lopez, Vice Chair *Diana Aguilar-Cruz* Diego Arambula Jack Clarke, Jr. Adam Day Lillian Kimbell Christopher Steinhauser

UNIVERSITY AND FACULTY PERSONNEL Jack Clarke, Jr., Chair Douglas Faigin, Vice Chair Larry L. Adamson Jean Picker Firstenberg Maria Linares Jack McGrory

Anna Ortiz-Morfit