AGENDA

COMMITTEE ON INSTITUTIONAL ADVANCEMENT

Meeting: 4:00 p.m., Tuesday, September 19, 2017

Glenn S. Dumke Auditorium

Silas H. Abrego, Chair

Jean P. Firstenberg, Vice Chair

Debra S. Farar Hugo N. Morales J. Lawrence Norton Steven G. Stepanek

Consent Approval of Minutes of the Meeting of July 18, 2017

Discussion 1. 2017-2018 California State University Trustees' Award for Outstanding

Achievement, Information

MINUTES OF THE MEETING OF COMMITTEE ON INSTITUTIONAL ADVANCEMENT

Office of the Chancellor Glenn S. Dumke Auditorium 401 Golden Shore Long Beach, California

July 18, 2017

Members Present

Silas H. Abrego, Chair Jean P. Firstenberg, Vice Chair Rebecca D. Eisen, Chair of the Board Debra S. Farar Hugo N. Morales Timothy P. White, Chancellor

Trustee Abrego called the meeting to order.

Approval of Minutes

The minutes of May 23, 2017, were approved as submitted.

Naming of The Younes & Soraya Nazarian Center for the Performing Arts – California State University, Northridge

Mr. Garrett Ashley, vice chancellor for university relations and advancement, reported that the proposed naming recognizes the \$17 million gift by Younes and Soraya Nazarian to Cal State Northridge.

Dr. Sharon Nazarian, president of the Y&S Nazarian Family Foundation, spoke on behalf of her family. Cal State Northridge President Dianne F. Harrison and Chancellor Timothy P. White thanked the Nazarians for their generosity to the university and the community.

The committee recommended approval by the board of the proposed resolution (RIA 07-17-09) that the Valley Performing Arts Center at California State University, Northridge be named as The Younes and Soraya Nazarian Center for the Performing Arts.

Trustee Abrego adjourned the meeting.

Information Item
Agenda Item 1
September 19-20, 2017
Page 1 of 2

COMMITTEE ON INSTITUTIONAL ADVANCEMENT

2017-2018 California State University Trustees' Award for Outstanding Achievement

Presentation By

Timothy P. White Chancellor

Ali C. Razi Trustee Emeritus

Silas H. Abrego Trustee

Summary

Each year, the California State University (CSU) Board of Trustees provides scholarships to high-achieving students who have demonstrated financial need and overcome profound personal hardships to attain an education from the CSU. These students have superior academic records and are also providing extraordinary service to their communities.

Background

Since its inception, 366 students have received the CSU Trustees' Awards for Outstanding Achievement. Thanks to donor generosity, 23 students will receive an award this year. The most outstanding recipient is designated the Trustee Emeritus Ali C. Razi Scholar.

These distinguished awards are funded by contributions from the CSU trustees, employees and friends of the university. Endowments have been established by the William Randolph Hearst Foundation, Trustee Emeritus Ali Razi, Trustee Emeritus Murray L. Galinson, Trustee Emeritus Kenneth Fong, Trustee Emeritus Claudia Hampton, Trustee Emeritus William Hauck, Trustee Emeritus George Marcus, Chancellor Emeritus Charles B. Reed, the Stauffer Foundation and CSU Foundation Chair Ron and Mitzi Barhorst. Additional named scholarships have been funded by: Trustee Rebecca Eisen, Trustee Peter Taylor, CSU Foundation board member Peter Brightbill/Wells Fargo, CSU Foundation board member Scott Wells/Santé Health Systems and Advantek Benefit Administrators, CSU Foundation board member Michael Lizárraga/TELACU, CSU Foundation board member Sheri Slate/Cisco, CSU Foundation board member Michael Lucki, CSU Foundation board member Gillian Wright/SoCalGas Company, CSU Foundation board member Gaddi Vasquez/Southern California Edison, Sycuan Band of Kumeyaay Nation, Fresno State Foundation, The Henry J. Kaiser Family Foundation and the Ralph M. Parsons Foundation. Trustees, presidents and other donors made additional gifts in memory of Chancellor Emeritus Charles Reed.

Travel for the scholars has been generously provided by Southwest Airlines and the reception is sponsored by TELACU and Tamayo Restaurant.

Ins. Adv. Agenda Item 1 September 19-20, 2017 Page 2 of 2

The recipients of the 2017-2018 CSU Trustees' Award for Outstanding Achievement are:

Gracelove Simons

California State University, Bakersfield *Cisco Scholar*

Amanda Garcia

California State University Channel Islands Santé Health Systems and Advantek Benefit Scholar

Malyssa Gunderson

California State University, Chico Ralph M. Parsons Foundation Scholar

Aileen Gonzalez

California State University, Dominguez Hills *SoCalGas Company Scholar*

Rehan Siddique

California State University, East Bay Henry J. Kaiser Family Foundation Scholar

Shelby Paige Moshier

California State University, Fresno Trustee Emeritus Peter Mehas Scholar

Matthew Kessler

California State University, Fullerton Wells Fargo Scholar

Zahra Shine

Humboldt State University James Key Scholar

Brittany Wood

California State University, Long Beach William Randolph Hearst Scholar

Anthony Robles

California State University, Los Angeles Trustee Emeritus Murray L. Galinson Scholar

Emily Shimada

California State University Maritime Academy William Randolph Hearst Scholar

AnnaRose Holder

California State University, Monterey Bay Ron and Mitzi Barhorst Scholar

David Nelson

California State University, Northridge Southern California Edison Scholar

Paul Chiou

California State Polytechnic University, Pomona Trustee Emerita Claudia H. Hampton Scholar

Susan Nisonger Olsen

California State University, Sacramento Chancellor Emeritus Charles B. and Catherine Reed Scholar

Carolina Gabaldon

California State University, San Bernardino Sycuan Band of the Kumeyaay Nation Scholar

Alejandro Arias

San Diego State University
Trustee Emeritus Ali C. Razi Scholar

Anaiis Cisco

San Francisco State University
Trustee Board Chair Rebecca D. and James
Eisen Scholar

Essy Barroso-Ramirez

San José State University
Trustee Emeritus William Hauck and Padget
Kaiser Scholar

Jeremiah Hernandez

California Polytechnic State University, San Luis Obispo Michael A. and Debe Lucki Scholar

Francisco Fernandez

California State University San Marcos Trustee Emeritus Kenneth Fong Scholar

Jennifer Juarez Yoc

Sonoma State University *Boeing Scholar*

Antonio Garcia

California State University, Stanislaus *TELACU Scholar*